Discover the “Corniche Vendéenne” !

On the western shores of an ancient island, the Corniche Vendéenne reveals three kilometres of wild rocky coast from Saint Gilles Croix de Vie to the Sion district of Saint Hilaire de Riez. Over time, the inlet separating the mainland from this ancient island, was gradually filled with marine deposits.

As a couple, family or friends, take a moment to stroll along the ocean. The Corniche offers you a unique view of the cliffs and the many rocks! Admire its beautiful sandy coves as well as the beautiful Villas Belle Epoque, typical of the region.

For hikers on foot or by bicycle, a route has recently been developed along the seaside with bicycle paths and a walking path of responsible discovery, offering stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Surprising places

  • “Le Trou du Diable” : During the great tides, the sea rushes into this rocky cavity and splashes violently. It ends at the tip of Grosse-Terre where you can descend at the foot of the cliff by a staircase near the lighthouse.
  • “Les 5 Pineaux” : These are 5 isolated rocks facing the ocean. They are also called “the five monks” because they would watch over the devil who is not far from there…

 

If you are looking for a holiday rental in Saint Hilaire de Riez, contact the campsite to find out what is available.

Découvrez la Corniche Vendéenne !

Rivages occidentaux d’une ancienne île, la Corniche Vendéenne vous dévoile trois kilomètres de côte rocheuse sauvage de Saint Gilles Croix de Vie au quartier de Sion de Saint Hilaire de Riez. Au fil du temps, le bras de mer séparant le continent de cette ancienne île, a peu à peu été comblé par des dépôts marins.

En couple, en famille ou entre amis, profitez d’un instant pour flâner le long de l’océan. La Corniche vous offre une vue unique sur les falaises et les nombreux rochers ! Admirez ses jolies petites criques sablonneuses ainsi que les magnifiques Villas Belle Epoque, typiques de la région.

Pour les adeptes de la randonnée à pied ou à vélo, un parcours a récemment été aménagé le long du bord de mer avec pistes cyclables et un sentier pédestre de découverte responsable, offrant des vues imprenables sur l’Océan Atlantique.

Des lieux surprenants

  • Le Trou du Diable : lors des grandes marées, la mer s’engouffre dans cette cavité rocheuse et rejaillit violemment. Elle se termine à la pointe de Grosse-Terre où vous pourrez descendre au pied de la falaise par un escalier situé près du phare.
  • Les 5 Pineaux : ce sont 5 rochers isolés faisant face à l’océan. Ils sont également appelés « les cinq moines » car ils surveilleraient le diable enfermé non loin de là…

 

Si vous cherchez une location de vacances à Saint Hilaire de Riez, contactez le camping pour connaitre les disponibilités.